For Fastest Scores, News, & LIVE Shows - Download Daddy News247

Play Store Apple Store
Tuesday, May 28, 2024
HomeFeatured NewsIPL Season 5 History-

IPL Season 5 History-


The fifth season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) was held in 2012 and featured nine teams, as the Kochi Tuskers Kerala franchise was terminated before the start of the season. The tournament was played in the same format as the previous seasons, with the top four teams at the end of the league stage advancing to the playoffs.

The Kolkata Knight Riders emerged as the winners of the tournament, defeating the Chennai Super Kings in the final by five wickets. The Kolkata Knight Riders’ victory in the final marked their first IPL title and cemented their status as one of the top teams in the tournament.

The fifth season of IPL was marked by some outstanding performances, including Chris Gayle’s incredible century for the Royal Challengers Bangalore, which included 17 sixes. The tournament also saw some new stars emerge, including Mandeep Singh and Manvinder Bisla, who played crucial roles in their respective teams’ success.

The fifth season of IPL was also notable for the spot-fixing scandal that emerged during the tournament. Five players, including three from the Rajasthan Royals franchise, were arrested on charges of spot-fixing, and the scandal cast a shadow over the tournament’s credibility.

Despite the controversy, the fifth season of IPL was still a huge success, drawing large crowds and high TV ratings. The Kolkata Knight Riders’ victory in the final marked the beginning of a period of dominance for the team, which would go on to win several more titles in the years to come.

Previous article
Next article


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_img