For Fastest Scores, News, & LIVE Shows - Download Daddy News247

Play Store Apple Store
Saturday, June 15, 2024
HomeCricketAs the first group of players departs for the World Test Championship final,...

As the first group of players departs for the World Test Championship final, Virat Kohli is one of them


In the early hours of Tuesday, Virat Kohli will be among the first group of Indian players to embark for the World Test Championship (WTC) final against Australia in London.

The first group of Indian players will depart early on Tuesday for the World Test Championship (WTC) final match against Australia in London, including Virat Kohli. A day after their club was eliminated from the IPL, Kohli’s Royal Challengers Bangalore colleague Mohammad Siraj will also go on the same aircraft. Along with the support personnel for the squad, captained by Rahul Dravid, spinners R Ashwin and Axar Patel, as well as all-rounder Shardul Thakur, will be on the aircraft. The Oval will host the final from June 7 to 11.

“There will be a total of two or three departures. Tomorrow, the first group departs at 4.30 am, according to a BCCI source.

Players like captain Rohit Sharma, Ishan Kishan, Shubman Gill, Mohammad Shami, K S Bharat, and Ajinkya Rahane will remain in India for the IPL playoffs.

In England, Cheteshwar Pujara is already a county cricket player.

Only three Australians who are headed to the World T20 competed in the wealthiest T20 league, compared to the bulk of Indian squad members who are entering the title match following two months of IPL.

The legendary Ricky Ponting predicted last week that although the Indians will have tremendous game experience behind them, the Australians would be mentally more prepared for the final.

“There are two perspectives on this. Is Virat better off playing now, consistently getting runs, and feeling confident before a game than the Australians at home, who haven’t played much cricket but will be mentally more ready?,” Ponting had remarked.

India will be seeking to win their first ICC trophy in ten years after finishing as runners-up in 2021.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_img