For Fastest Scores, News, & LIVE Shows - Download Daddy News247

Play Store Apple Store
Friday, May 24, 2024
HomeCricketThe 15-player women's team for Cricket Australia's forthcoming five-match T20I series against...

The 15-player women’s team for Cricket Australia’s forthcoming five-match T20I series against India was announced and Alyssa Healy will be leading the team.


The 15-player women’s team for Cricket Australia (CA) forthcoming’s five-match T20I series against India was announced on Tuesday. Meg Lanning, who is currently out, will be captained by Alyssa Healy, and all-rounder Tahlia McGrath has been selected vice-captain for the series. With Litchfield and Garth being included in their first Australian squad, Phoebe Litchfield, Kim Garth, and Heather Graham are set to make their T20I debuts. Australia’s Head of Performance (Women’s Cricket) and National Selector, Shawn Flegler said: “These five matches form an important part of the team’s preparations for the upcoming T20 World Cup in South Africa as well as providing an opportunity for some players to gain some experience in Indian conditions.”

“India will be a good test; they’re a strong side and the two teams have had some good battles in recent times. Without Meg and Rachael, this series will provide opportunities for players particularly in the top order, so we’re looking forward to seeing who puts their hand up,” he added. “Kim’s another who’s been in our thinking, she’s had a couple of strong seasons with the ball and adds extra depth to our pace bowling stocks. Heather hasn’t had many opportunities to break into the side, but she’s toiled away with both bat and ball in domestic cricket. She adds depth to the middle order and provides Shelley and Alyssa with another pace bowling option,” he stated further.

Talking about Alyssa, the selector said: “Alyssa will get the chance to lead the side in Meg’s absence which is exciting, and Tahlia will no doubt take plenty from being her deputy. She’s worked hard on developing that side of her game and thoroughly deserves the opportunity.” Prior to the opening Twenty20 International on December 9, Australia will leave for India on December 4.

The squad is: Alyssa Healy (c), Tahlia McGrath, Darcie Brown, Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Kim Garth, Heather Graham, Grace Harris, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Phoebe Litchfield, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_img