For Fastest Scores, News, & LIVE Shows - Download Daddy News247

Play Store Apple Store
Saturday, June 15, 2024
HomeCricketTest Schedule For India's Tour Of Australia Revealed; Perth To Host Series'...

Test Schedule For India’s Tour Of Australia Revealed; Perth To Host Series’ 5 Opening Match


For the first time since the summer of 1991–1992, Australia and India will compete in a five-match Border-Gavaskar Trophy series.

Australia has announced the itinerary for their next home summer, which includes India’s arrival for a five-match Test series, with Perth hosting the opener. The five-match Test series against Rohit Sharma’s team will begin on November 22 in Perth, with additional Tests scheduled in Adelaide (day-night), Brisbane, Melbourne, and Sydney until the start of the New Year. It will be the first time Australia and India have played a five-match series as part of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy since the summer of 1991/92, giving both teams a fair chance to secure their spot in next year’s ICC World Test Championship final.

While India has held the prized Border-Gavaskar trophy since 2017 thanks to back-to-back series victories away from home, Australia gained bragging rights when they won the most recent World Test Championship final at The Oval last year.

CEO of Cricket Australia Nick Hockley is anticipating a close match between the evenly matched teams and is excited to welcome India to Australian soil later this year.

“This is one of the most highly anticipated summers of cricket in memory with the eyes of the cricket world focused on the extended Border-Gavaskar Trophy series and the multi-format Women’s Ashes,” Hockley was quoted by the ICC.

“Fittingly, the Border-Gavaskar Trophy has been put on the same footing as The Ashes with a five match Test Series for the first time since 1991-92 and we’re confident the schedule will maximise viewership and attendances and there will be a tremendous atmosphere in stadiums across the country.”
Prior to the action picking up even more with the Test series against India, Australia’s home summer will begin with a visit from Pakistan, who will play three ODIs and three Twenty20Is at the beginning of November.
Cricket Australia has also released the women’s itinerary, which includes three One Day International (ODI) matches scheduled for early December. India’s women’s team will be in Australia concurrently with their male counterparts.

After the Women’s T20 World Cup in Bangladesh, Australia will play three One-Day Internationals (ODIs) against New Zealand in September. On December 5, they will play three matches against India in Brisbane and Perth. After that, Australia’s focus will be on the multiformat Women’s Ashes series against England, which includes three ODIs, three T20Is, and a historic day-night Test match at the MCG at the end of January.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_img