For Fastest Scores, News, & LIVE Shows - Download Daddy News247

Play Store Apple Store
Monday, July 15, 2024
HomeCricketTamim’s Fortune Barishal defeated four-time champion Comilla Victorians to win BPL 2024

Tamim’s Fortune Barishal defeated four-time champion Comilla Victorians to win BPL 2024


Fortune Barishal, led by Tamim Iqbal, defeated four-time champions Comilla Victorians by six wickets in the final at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium on Friday.

At the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur on Friday, March 1, Fortune Barishal defeated the four-time champion Comilla Victorians by six wickets to win the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2024.

The Victorians entered the game as the favorites since they wanted to capture three straight titles after taking home the titles in 2022 and 2023. But Barishal, who had just lost to the Victorians in the BPL 2022 final, came out swinging.

The Victorians, who were placed to bat first, reached 154 for 6 in 20 overs. Their highest scorer, Mahidul Islam Ankon, scored 38 runs off of 35 balls. However, it was Andre Russell who, with a knock of 27 off 14, gave the innings some momentum.

Barishal’s standout bowlers were Kyle Mayers and Obed McCoy, who combined for 8-0-50-2.

Barishal were never behind in their run chase, winning in 19 overs. Their captain, Tamim Iqbal, set the tone with a 39-ball knock. Mayers went on to score 46 runs off 30 balls, including five fours and two sixes.

The Victorians’ Mustafizur Rahman and Moeen Ali each took two wickets, but it was in vain.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_img