For Fastest Scores, News, & LIVE Shows - Download Daddy News247

Play Store Apple Store
Tuesday, May 28, 2024
HomeCricketSuryakumar Yadav is named the Wisden T20I player of 2022, and Harmanpreet...

Suryakumar Yadav is named the Wisden T20I player of 2022, and Harmanpreet Kaur makes history


Harmanpreet’s outstanding 143 off 111 balls, which enabled India to win their first ODI series in England since 1999, was a major factor in her inclusion on the list.

Harmanpreet Kaur made history by being the first Indian woman to be selected as one of the Wisden Cricketers of the Year, a tradition that dates back to 1889. Tom Blundell and Daryl Mitchell from New Zealand, Ben Foakes and Matthew Potts from England, and Daryl Mitchell and Ben Blundell from New Zealand round out the group.

The outstanding 143 runs off 111 balls that the Indian women’s team skipper scored in Canterbury, which helped India win their first ODI series on English soil since 1999, is the main reason the captain made the list. India was also led by Harmanpreet to the Commonwealth Games championship game in Birmingham. After being defeated by Australia in the summit match, they had to settle for the silver medal.

Suryakumar Yadav was another Indian who received recognition for his outstanding accomplishments during the previous year. As the male T20I cricketer of the year, he received the Wisden award. Yadav amassed 1,000 T20 International runs in 2022, becoming just the second player to do so. Additionally, he scored two century, one against England in Nottingham and the other against New Zealand at Mount Maunganui. What sets his performance apart is the fact that he achieved all of those runs despite batting in the middle of the order and with a mind-boggling strike rate of 187.43.

Ben Stokes, the captain of England, was recognised as the top male cricketer in the world. The 31-year-old all-rounder helped England defeat Pakistan in the T20 World Cup final in November and led them to nine victories in their last ten Test matches. Before Stokes was named captain in April, England had lost their previous 17 Test matches.

In addition to receiving the prize in 2019 and 2020, he has now been voted the top cricketer for a third time. Joe Root, a fellow countryman, won the title in 2021.

Beth Mooney, an Australian batter who helped her nation win the 50-over and 20-over World Cup competitions as well as gold at the 2022 Commonwealth Games, was crowned the top women’s cricket player in the world for the second time in three years.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_img