Before being dismissed by Scott Boland, Shubman Gill had made the first move and had hit two boundaries in his run-a-ball score of 18 runs.
Even though Australia currently appears to be slightly ahead of India in the ICC World Test Championship final, the match remains an exciting one. India had a promising start but lost two quick wickets before Virat Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane, a pair, helped repair the damage with an unbeaten partnership for the fourth wicket. This was the first time that India had been given a mammoth target of 444 runs by the finalists.
India finished the fourth day of play with 164 runs and needs 280 more runs to win on Sunday. They have already lost three wickets while chasing the target. On social media, however, the firing of Shubman Gill has sparked a debate as some users question whether Cameron Green actually made a clean catch while fielding at the gully.
Green extended his left hand for a one-handed diving catch after an edge flew to his left. The on-field umpire referred the decision to his TV counterpart because it was unclear to the naked eye whether the ball had touched the turf or not.