For Fastest Scores, News, & LIVE Shows - Download Daddy News247

Play Store Apple Store
Sunday, June 16, 2024
HomeCricketPakistan Cricket Board is expected to announce an 18-player squad for the...

Pakistan Cricket Board is expected to announce an 18-player squad for the T20I series against New Zealand in the coming days


According to Geo News, the Men in Green team will probably be revealed by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) in the next few days for their forthcoming home T20I series against New Zealand, which is scheduled for later this month. Participating in the fitness program run by Pakistan Army trainers in Kakul is the men’s cricket team from Pakistan. The final list of players who will play in the five-match T20I series is being finalized through consultation between Pakistan’s main selectors and captain Babar Azam. A roster of eighteen players will be revealed for the series, according to sources close to Geo News.

Since speedster Haris Rauf is still recovering from a shoulder injury he sustained during the recently completed Pakistan Super League (PSL), his availability for the series may be in question.

The following players are anticipated to participate in the five-match series: Iftikhar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Shadab Khan, Usama Mir, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Naseem Shah, Imad Waseem, Muhammad Amir, Zaman Khan, Usman Khan, Wasim Jr., Irfan Niazi, and Abbas Afridi.

Mohsin Naqvi, the chairman of the PCB, met with the players who are currently in the training camp on Monday. Following the recent controversy over the captaincy change, Naqvi met with star speedster Shaheen Shah Afridi in Kakul on Monday and struck a truce, according to news sources.

With just one series under his leadership—a 4-1 loss for Pakistan against New Zealand—Afridi was relieved of his T20I captaincy on Sunday. In front of the T20 World Cup in 2024, the PCB appointed Babar Azam as the team’s captain once again.

News sources reports that after their discussions, Naqvi and Afridi agreed to move past the issue even though Afridi remained unconvinced by how his issues had been addressed.

At the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium on April 18 and the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore on April 27, respectively, the Twenty20 International series will take place.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_img