For Fastest Scores, News, & LIVE Shows - Download Daddy News247

Play Store Apple Store
Tuesday, May 21, 2024
HomeCricketIn the ODI format of cricket, Virat Kohli creates history by breaking...

In the ODI format of cricket, Virat Kohli creates history by breaking Sachin Tendulkar’s record


Virat Kohli set a world record during India’s match against Sri Lanka in the Cricket global Cup 2023.

On Thursday, Virat Kohli reached another significant milestone to his already famous career as he passed the 1000-run mark in ODIs in 2023. Kohli accomplished the accomplishment during India’s Cricket World Cup 2023 match against Sri Lanka at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium, as the experienced Indian batter extended his great run in the championship. This was Kohli’s eighth year of scoring 1000+ runs in a calendar year, breaking the world record held by great India batsman Sachin Tendulkar. Tendulkar accomplished the feat seven times throughout his famous ODI career.

Most times scoring 1000+ ODI runs in a calendar year

8 – Virat Kohli (2011-14, 2017-19, 2023)*

7 – Sachin Tendulkar (1994, 1996-98, 2000, 2003, 2007)

Sri Lanka skipper Kusal mendis won the toss and elected to bowl first.

So far, the Indian cricket team has gone undefeated, with six wins in six matches, whereas Sri Lanka has won only two of their six games.

“We are going to bowl first,” stated SL captain Kusal during the toss. In the second part, I believe the pitch will be better for batting. In the last few games, everyone gave it their all. Hopefully, they will do so again today. “There is one change: DDS (Dhananjaya De Silva) is not playing; instead, Dushan Hemantha is.”

“Would have batted first,” Indian skipper Rohit Sharma said, leading India for the first time in a World Cup match at his childhood stadium. Obviously, some assistance will be required to begin, but under lights, our pacers will benefit greatly. It is an honour and a privilege to lead the team at this time. It is critical that we do not get carried away with our performances. The same team as in the previous game.”

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis(w/c), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Angelo Mathews, Dushan Hemantha, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Dushmantha Chameera, Dilshan Madushanka.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_img