For Fastest Scores, News, & LIVE Shows - Download Daddy News247

Play Store Apple Store
Sunday, April 14, 2024
HomeCricketGulf Giants win ILT20 2023, defeating Desert Vipers in the final to...

Gulf Giants win ILT20 2023, defeating Desert Vipers in the final to claim the inaugural title.


Gulf Giants win the inaugural International League T20.

Gulf Giants won the inaugural ILT20 title by seven wickets against Desert Vipers on Sunday, February 12 at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium, thanks to a brilliant bowling performance from Carlos Brathwaite (3/19) and a terrific knock from Chris Lynn (72* off 50 balls).

The Gulf Giants won an important coin toss and elected to bowl first. The Desert Vipers’ powerplay issues persisted in the final. Within the powerplay, Gulf Giants took three wickets of Vipers’ top order, leaving Vipers reeling at 25/3 after 4.3 overs. The Vipers lost skipper Colin Munro early after the powerplay because he only scored six runs, and the team desperately needed a big partnership.

Wanindu Hasaranga and Sam Billings teamed up for another 72-run partnership. However, after Billings and Hasaranga were out in consecutive overs, the Giants began to make a comeback. The lower order batters contributed significantly, allowing the Vipers to reach a respectable total of 146.

The top order of the Gulf Giants came out firing and began finding boundaries with ease. However, Desert Vipers took two quick wickets and attempted to turn the match in their favour. Chris Lynn, on the other hand, ensured that the Giants’ run chase went smoothly. He formed crucial alliances with Gerhard Erasmus and Shimron Hetmeyer and stayed until the end to ensure the Giants’ victory.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_img