For Fastest Scores, News, & LIVE Shows - Download Daddy News247

Play Store Apple Store
Tuesday, May 21, 2024
HomeBBL & WBBLDo we need to amend the rules? Michael Neser's contentious catch in...

Do we need to amend the rules? Michael Neser’s contentious catch in a BBL game causes a lot of controversy.


In his team’s Big Bash League (BBL) match versus Sydney Sixers, Brisbane Heat pacer Michael Neser made one of the most well-planned yet contentious catches. Since Neser caught the ball outside the boundary rope, his catch has generated a great deal of controversy and split spectators’ viewpoints.

On January 1st, 2023, Australian pacer Michael Neser stunned the cricket world by making one of the most wonderfully planned yet contentious catches for his team, the Brisbane Heat, against the Sydney Sixers in the Big Bash League (BBL) 12.

An inside-out shot was sent to Mark Steketee by Sixers hitter Jordan Silk, who had kept his team in the game with a rapid knock of 41 off 22 in a chase of 225 runs. Neser soon saw that his body wasn’t balanced and threw the ball up in the air. But because he tossed the ball outside the rope rather than inside it, he had to grab it while it was in the air. After doing so, he threw the ball back into the action and finally caught it to get a look of Silk’s back.

Neser wasn’t sure whether it was out or not, so the third umpire reviewed it several times to confirm Neser wasn’t making simultaneous contact with the ball and the ground, as well as the validity of the catch since he made it once he was outside the rope. Ultimately, the verdict was made in favour of the fielding team, which generated a lot of controversy.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_img